Chief Petty Officer Ernest Pitcher VC DSM - Royal Navy ( HMS 'Dunraven' - 'Q' Ship )

Names M to R

On His Majesty, King George V's invitation, an Afternoon Party was held at Buckingham Palace on 26th June 1920 for the recipients of the Victoria Cross.

Rank FName LName Regiment Year of

Private George MACINTOSH Gordon Highlanders 1917
Lieutenant David MACINTYRE Argyll & Sutherland Highlanders 1918
Lieutenant George MALING Royal Army Medical Corps 1915
Major Conwyn MANSEL-JONES West Yorkshire Regiment 1900
Colonel Sir Percival MARLING King's Royal Rifle Corps 1884
Captain Cyril MARTIN Corps of Royal Engineers 1915
Private Richard MASTERS Royal Army Service Corps 1918
Major James MASTERTON Devonshire Regiment 1900
Lieutenant Thomas MAUFE Royal Garrison Artillery 1917
Private Henry MAY Cameronians ( Scottish Rifles ) 1914
Corporal Tom MAYSON King's Own Regiment 1917
Sergeant John MCAULAY Scots Guards 1917
L / Corporal Robert MCBEATH Seaforth Highlanders 1917
Captain George MCKEAN 14th Bn Quebec Regiment, CEF 1918
Sergeant William MCNALLY Yorkshire Regiment 1918
L / Sergeant Fred MCNESS Scots Guards 1916
Lieutenant Samuel MEEKOSHA West Yorkshire Regiment 1915
Reverend Edward MELLISH Army Chaplains Department 1916
Maj General Charles MELLISS Indian Staff Corps, Indian Army 1900
Private Charles MELVIN Black Watch 1917
Private Francis MILES Gloucestershire Regiment 1918
Private Martin MOFFATT Leinster Regiment 1918
Sergeant John MOLYNEUX Royal Fusiliers 1917
Sergeant Edward MOTT Border Regiment 1917
Sergeant Albert MOUNTAIN West Yorkshire Regiment 1918
L / Sergeant John MOYNEY Irish Guards 1917
L / Corporal James MURRAY Connaught Rangers 1881
Lieutenant Edgar MYLES Worcestershire Regiment 1916

Major Philip NEAME Corps of Royal Engineers 1914
Colonel William NICKERSON Royal Army Medical Corps 1918
2nd Lieutenant George NURSE Royal Field Artillery 1899

Sergeant James OCKENDON Royal Dublin Fusiliers 1917
2nd Lieutenant Michael O'LEARY Connaught Rangers 1915
Sergeant John O'NEILL Leinster Regiment 1918
2nd Lieutenant George ONIONS Rifle Brigade 1918
Sergeant John ORMSBY King's Own Yorkshire LI 1917
Private James OSBORNE Northamptonshire Regiment 1881

L / Corporal Walter PARKER Royal Marine Light Infantry 1915
Lieutenant Robert PHILLIPS Royal Warwickshire Regiment 1917
Colonel Edmund PHIPPS-HORNBY Royal Horse Artillery 1900
Petty Officer Ernest PITCHER Royal Navy 1917
Lance Corporal James PITTS Manchester Regiment 1900
Lieutenant Alfred POLLARD Honourable Artillery Company 1917
Lieutenant James POLLOCK Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders 1915
Private Frederick POTTS 1st Berkshire Yeomanry 1915
Private Arthur POULTER Duke of Wellington's Regiment 1918
Colonel Llewelyn PRICE-DAVIES King's Royal Rifle Corps 1901
General Sir Dighton PROBYN 2nd Punjab Cavalry 1858
Private Arthur PROCTER King's (Liverpool) Regiment 1916

Sergeant John RAYNES Royal Field Artillery 1915
Private John READITT South Lancashire Regiment 1917
Maj General Hamilton REED Royal Field Artillery 1899
Lt Colonel Lionel REES Royal Flying Corps 1916
Sergeant Thomas RENDLE Duke of Cornwall's LI 1914
Captain Henry REYNOLDS Royal Scots 1917
Sergeant Alfred RICHARDS Lancashire Fusiliers 1915
Sergeant Arthur RICHARDSON Lord Strathcona's Horse 1900
Colonel Richard RIDGEWAY 44th Gurkha Rifles, Indian Army 1897
Corporal John RIPLEY Black Watch 1915
Commander Henry RITCHIE Royal Navy 1914
Drummer Walter RITCHIE Seaforth Highlanders 1916
L / Corporal Charles ROBERTSON Royal Fusiliers 1918
Lt Colonel William ROBERTSON Gordon Highlanders 1899
Private Henry ROBSON Royal Scots 1914
Private Frederick ROOM Royal Irish Regiment 1917
Captain George ROUPELL East Surrey Regiment 1915
Private Robert RYDER Middlesex Regiment 1916

Header S to Y

Go to VC Home Page